2793
Image 0 - Castelgrande
Image 1 - Castelgrande
Image 2 - Castelgrande
Image 3 - Castelgrande
Image 4 - Castelgrande
Image 5 - Castelgrande
Image 6 - Castelgrande
Image 7 - Castelgrande

Castelgrande

Info

Salita Castelgrande
6500 Bellinzona
Tel: +41 91 825 81 45
info@bellinzonese-altoticino.ch
www.bellinzonese-altoticino.ch

From the 16 May 2020 Castelgrande reopens with the museum and the exhibition of Pro Natura. 
 

The first human settlement on San Michele hill dates back to 5500/5000 B.C., in the Neolithic period. The first archaeologically confirmed fortification was constructed in the fourth century A.D. The presence of a fort is also recalled in a number of documents dating back to the sixth century. It was in the fourteenth century that the castle was first called Castrum Magnum, or “Castel Grande”. This is its name today as well. However, during the Swiss occupation it was called Uri (1630) or Altdorf Castle, and in 1818 the Castle of San Michele.

 

The castle complex that is currently visible dates back to a range of periods: the earliest construction from the thirteenth century was built upon during a “Milanese” phase (1473-1486), which was followed by a restoration in the early 1600s and considerable overhauls in the 1800s. Its current appearance is the result of the most recent restorations (1984-1991) directed by architect Aurelio Galfetti.

 

The castellated wall is divided into 3 segments. From one of these, 2 branches of walls spread all the way to the city, and at one time linked up with those coming down from Montebello Castle. It was these walls that protected the hamlet long ago.

 

On the other side is the defensive wall, which at the time of the Visconti, the Dukes of Milan, reached all the way to the banks of the Ticino River. Built towards the end of the fourteenth century, it was reinforced by the Sforzas between 1486 and 1489 with a bridge over the river and a turret against the mountain, which were destroyed in part by the “buzza di Biasca” landslide in 1515.

 

From the belvedere of the elegant 27-metre Torre Bianca, or White Tower (1250-1350), feast your eyes on a 360-degree view and the impressive 28-metre Torre Nera, or Black Tower (1310), home to the Escape Room of the same name, where a thrilling challenge awaits you!

 

Outside, a natural sensory trail provides a fun barefoot experience of discovery for adults and children alike.

 

And for those who appreciate a good meal, the refined Ristorante Castelgrande offers authentic and exquisite dishes, while Grotto S. Michele features typical local menus to be enjoyed inside or out on the terrace while admiring an enchanting panoramic view.

 

The castle guarantees just the right combination of culture and leisure. Venture out on foot on the steep paths from Piazza Collegiata, Piazza Nosetto, along Via Orico, on a convenient road from Piazza Orico, from the defensive wall or from Piazzetta Della Valle with a convenient lift.

 

Castelgrande features a museum open to visitors, as well as a slideshow. Be sure not to miss the fascinating temporary national and international displays and exhibitions in Sala Arsenale. 



Museum and InfoPoint open all year round
01.04.2020 - 08.11.2020: from 10.00 to 18.00 
From the 09.11.2020: from 10.30 to 16.00 


Accessibility
Access to the Castles for persons with reduced mobility is only partial. For more information, please contact the InfoPoint at the Castle.

Partner Ticino Ticket

Thanks to Ticino Ticket you can visit this attraction at a discounted price. Ask the ticket at your hotel, campsite or hostel and find out all the offers you can receive.

2793
Image 0 - Castelgrande
Image 1 - Castelgrande
Image 2 - Castelgrande
Image 3 - Castelgrande
Image 4 - Castelgrande

Castelgrande

Info

Salita Castelgrande
6500 Bellinzona
Tél: +41 91 825 81 45
info@bellinzonese-altoticino.ch
www.bellinzonese-altoticino.ch

La première installation humaine sur la colline San Michele remonte au Néolithique (5500-5000 ans avant J.-C.). Le IVe siècle après J.-C. voit la construction de la première fortification attestée d’un point de vue archéologique. Divers documents du VIe siècle évoquent également l’existence d’une structure fortifiée. Au XIVe siècle, le château est pour la première fois appelé Castrum Magnum, Castel Grande, sa désignation actuelle, même si d’autres noms apparaissent au fil des siècles: château d’Uri (1630, sous la domination des Confédérés), château d’Altdorf ou encore château de Saint-Michel (1818).

 

Les structures actuellement visibles datent de différentes époques: une phase «milanaise» (1473-1486) s’est superposée à une première phase de construction au XIIIe siècle, suivie de travaux de restauration au début des années 1600 et d’interventions importantes au XIXe siècle. Son aspect actuel résulte des dernières restaurations (1984-1991), dirigées par l’architecte Aurelio Galfetti.

 

L’enceinte à créneaux est divisée en trois secteurs. De l’un d’eux partent, jusqu’à la ville, les murailles qui rejoignaient autrefois celles du château de Montebello et servaient à protéger le bourg.

 

Sur le côté opposé se trouve la grande muraille qui, à l’époque des Visconti, les ducs de Milan, atteignait les rives du Tessin. Construite vers la fin du XIVe siècle, elle est renforcée par les Sforza entre 1486 et 1489 avec un pont sur le fleuve et une tour contre la montagne, partiellement détruite par la «buzza di Biasca», la terrible inondation de 1515.

 

Haute de 27 mètres, l’élégante tour «blanche» (1250-1350) vous offre un époustouflant panorama à 360°. Datant de 1310 et s’élevant à 28 mètres de hauteur, l’imposante tour noire (1310) de 28 mètres vous propose de relever le défi de «l’escape room» du même nom!

 

À l’extérieur, un parcours sensoriel permettant de partir pieds nus à la découverte de la nature environnante réjouira grands et petits.

 

Le restaurant Castelgrande accueille les amateurs de cuisine raffinée avec des plats authentiques, tandis que le Grotto S. Michele vous propose de vous restaurer à l’intérieur ou sur la terrasse d’où admirer, entre deux bouchées, un panorama enchanteur.

 

Culture et loisirs se mêlent ici pour le plaisir de tous. Parcourez à pied les ruelles escarpées depuis la Piazza Collegiata, la Piazza Nosetto, le long de la Via Orico, ou gagnez le château de manière plus accessible depuis la Piazza Orico, la muraille ou la Piazzetta Della Valle par un ascenseur facilitant l’accès.

 

Un musée et un diaporama vous attendent à l’intérieur du Castelgrande. Ne manquez pas non plus les expositions permanentes ou temporaires à caractère national et international organisées dans la salle de l’Arsenal. 

 

 

Musée et InfoPoint ouvert toute l'année:
16.03.2019 - 03.11.2019: de 10h00 à 18h00
04.11.2019 - 03.04.2020: de 10h30 à 16h00


Accessibilité
L’accès des piétons aux Châteaux pour les personnes à mobilité réduite est seulement partiel. Pour plus d’informations contactez l’infoPoint du Château.

Partner Ticino Ticket

Grâce au Ticino Ticket, vous pouvez visiter cette attraction à prix réduit. Demandez le ticket à votre hôtel, camping ou auberge et découvrez toutes les offres dont vous pouvez profiter.